equipment and technology for microarc oxidation of metals and alloys

Microarc oxidation is one of the most perspective aspects of superficial treatment (modifications gaining wide recognition in majority of industries for forming of multipurpose ceramic-like coatings.

The project is devoted to actual problem, i.e. to production of serial high-technology equipment for implementation of microarc oxidation technics in the hypersonic field, allowing constructing new generation composites on a surface of valve metals and their alloys (titanium, aluminum, zirconium etc.) of various functionality with heightened physical-mechanical and service properties.

A recent trend in the field were developments of Progress Industrial Systems SA company of Switzerland with application of the multifrequency hypersonic oscillations in electrolyte in a duty cycle of microarc oxidation of metals.

Short description of the proposed operating procedure

Implementation of the designed solution is carried out as follows: an article is immersed in a tank with electrolyte aqueous solution, two-four walls of the tank are attached with piezoelectric transducers with different resonance frequencies, other walls of the tank serve for cooling (maintaining an optimum temperature) of electrolyte solution in the course of the microarc oxidation and further, the electrodes one of which one is the article are fed with electric current that result in formation of microarcs which allow to gain composite coatings, the process of the microarc oxidation goes on at powered piezoelectric transducers operating on different frequencies (15 to 100 kHz) that allows to reshape coating with consistent pattern and permanently to supply fresh electrolyte to allowed area of microarc oxidation. The composite includes not only its own oxides of metals, but also chemical combinations from electrolyte components, ensuring production of the unique complex of physical-mechanical and service properties.

The designed technics of microarc oxidation in hypersonic fields is cost-effective and high capacity one (in comparison with existing analogues, for example, anodic oxidation), ensures high physical-mechanical and service properties of articles of various degrees of complication.

Product line for MAO

Power facilities - specialized power supply sources;
Tanks for surface preparation, treatment and washover;
positioning device for movement of a hanger with pieces (in case of batch production);
metallic structures for location of tanks and positioning device;
auxiliary equipment - a distiller, a pump-filter for water treatment and pumping-over of solutions, auxiliary tanks, quality control instruments of coatings and electrolyte state.

Pulses of a current of the determined shape move from power sources to the terminals of tanks to molding boxes, thus the piece is anode, the cathode is the tank or an additional electrodes, as a rule, of stainless steel.

Operations.

The number of indispensable operations during the MAO is significantly less, than at traditional processes of anodic oxidation. It results out of the absence of numerous preparatory operations and ecological compatibility of applied solutions. After the putting the pieces on a hanger a degreasing is carried out, then the pieces pass for treating. At large scales of production after the coating tank a trapping tank is installed for the more rational usage of chemicals and rinsing water.

Staff – production engineer (higher technical education) and workers (secondary technical education). For a section of 150-200 м2, as a rule, there are enough 2 workers for one shift. Also a periodic monitoring of a sanitary technician and electrician is needed.

Properties of MAO coatings

Structure:

MAO-coatings are ceramics of complicated structure. A coating during the microarc oxidizing is produced at the expense of oxidizing of metal surface thus reshaped oxide and hydroxide molding boxes of this metal. On the other part the coating grows at the expense of actuation in its structure of electrolyte elements. Electrolyte elements are included into the coating in the form of salts, magnesia and hydroxides of the composite complicated structure. If necessary MAO technics allow to inject in coating any necessary chemical element. The more time is required to the treatment of pieces, the the more electrolyte members are accumulated in a surface layer. The underlayer of coating which is fitting to metal-basis, consists predominantly of its oxide joints.

Diagram of variation of contents of aluminum and phosphorus on a surface of the MAO covering against time processing in phosphatic electrolyte.

Width:

Width of coatings is determined by several major factors. It is the nature of electrolyte, a material of an alloy of metal, a treatment schedule and a process time. MAO allows to obtain coatings by width from fractions to hundreds micrometers. The required width of coating depends on assigning and service conditions. For underlayer plotting under colouring, 5-10 microns there are enough for giving Dielectric properties or high passive hardness it is necessary 50-100 microns. Ornamental properties and anticorrosive properties in the atmospheric requirements ensure 20-40 microns of coating.

Porosity:

Porosity of coatings varies in the interval of 5-50 %, sizes from 0,01 to 10 microns. Constitution of holes at width of coating of more than 5-10 micrometer is complicated, derived with many derivations and closed spaces. It is impossible to obtain coatings free of holes that is stipulated by the process nature. If necessary porosity can be lowered by means of impregnation by various materials or by means of plotting of a stratum of a polymetric compound (coloring agent). Most often impregnation by fluoroplastics and plotting of the polymeric powdered is applied colors. In some cases porosity is the positive factor. By operation of coatings on deterioration in the conditions of lubrication, last goes into holes of coating and Ensures gradual invading in friction allowed band. In medicine the bioactive MAO coatings can contain medical products in their holes.

Wear resistance:

The coatings are used as abrasive resistant ones in various units and aggregates of ambulances and Dodges. At the expense of it in many cases it is possible to apply articles of aluminum - metal enough soft and complicated for traditional methods superficial treating (for example, galvanizers). The comparative were held trials of samples with the MAO coating on aluminum and a steel sample with plotted abrasive resistant stratum of chrome. The unit load at the tests constituted 0.64 N/mm2. MAO - coverings have demonstrated smaller deterioration, especially at high temperatures.

Temperature stability:

MAO coatings have an enhanced stability to thermal and thermal-cycle loadings. Coatings can work without limitations at temperatures of -40 to +60°С. At the gradual heat of a detail the MAO coating the temperature stability is limited to melting point of metal of the detail, as these values for metal certainly more low, than for ceramics. The tests have demonstrated that coatings can resist to 280 thermocycles 310-15ВЭС and to 25 thermocycles 500-15ВеС. At such tests the coated sample is heated to the set temperatures in an oven and then launched to cold water.

Roughness:

In the course of treatment the surface roughness raises with time. It is possible to ontain coatings with roughness up to the 8 class. The roughness depends on a material of an alloy, a state of its surface and a treatment schedule.

Corrosion resistance:

MAO method allows to obtain coatings, resistant in atmospheric conditions and in various corrosive medium - chemically aggressive solutions, vapors, sea water and so forth. As MAO coating are ceramics of the composite structure the corrosion stability of a material of coating is great enough. It is possible to ensure metal-basis corrosion prevention with width of coating and regulating of amount and constitution of holes. Additional protection is provided by impregnation of holes by an inert material (more often a fluoroplastic). Tests (GOST V 20.57.304-76, 20.57.304-88) have demonstrated GOST RV that the obtained coatings can be operated as non-corrodible within 15 years.

Dielectric properties:

Tension at which a puncture of coating is produced, as corrosive stability, depends on the width of coating, type and pore sizes. This magnitude can also be essentially augmented by application of the material which is filling the grains. An average voltage of coating puncture is 600 V. The coating with filling up of holes is uo to 2500 V

Adhesion:

MAO coatings have excellent adhesion with metal-ground, which provided by a transition layer on the interface. The transition layer is reshaped both inside the metal, and outside, and also has Profile with assemblage of flexures.

As a result, the adhesion of the coating with metal appears to be more than hardness of the coating and at a loading there do not appear coating breakoff on the interface metal-coating. Counted by results of -Values of adhesion calculated according to Scrach test amounts to 350 MPa.

The structure of the MAO coating

example of the complete equipment set for mao technology

Example: Production plant has substituted a spraying apparatus material of hard metal for aluminum with MAO coating and as a result has gained major passive hardness of a surface and saving of substitution of hard metal for lighter and low-cost aluminum. The monthly program amounted to 5000 details; in total they coated more than 800000 details. The implementation of the microarc oxidation techniques was restrained till now by little publicity of the method and the lack of manufacturing application of MAO industrial lines. Now this situation varies. The amount of the companies carrying out studies of MAO process was augmented.

Our customers are offered any alternative of the equipment delivery - a selective set of equipment up to "turn-key" delivery.

is offered to Customers

Basic set equipment for MAO

specialized power source with computer process control having the following features: supply voltage 380Vх10А; output voltage (adjustable) from 100 to 1000V; output current (adjustable) from 1 to 1000А; operating modes: pulsing or acoustical; monitoring and stabilizing of current and voltage, 100% recurrence of the given operating mode;

technological tank with cooling (maintaining a set temperature), the tank is equipped with a system of ultrasonic transducers working on frequencies from 15 to 100 kHz, power of ultrasonic transducers compounds from 1 to 12 kW (depending on a construction and bosh sizes), the bosh kit includes process devices for attachment of details.

ultrasonic generator: power 1 to 12 kW, frequency range 15 to 100 kHz (frequency and power are chosen depending on the tank dimensions)

QUESTIONNAIRE

# Processing parameters
1. Area to be processed mm²
2. Workpiece material (Al, Ti, Zr, Mg, ...)
3. Drawing of the workpiece (3D)
4. Treatment:
  • The whole area
  • Inside details
  • fragmentary
5. Required Properties:
  • anti-friction
  • anti-corrosive
  • wear-resistant
  • decorative
  • light reflectance
  • electrical isolation
  • thermal protection
  • bio-compatibility
  • x-ray transparency
  • other
6. Thickness cover
7. The porosity of the outer coating
8. Coverage color:
  • black
  • beige
  • red
  • blue
  • other
Comments
Technology Parameters
9. Productivity per year
10. Bipolar pulse
11. The control system of voltage, frequency, working cycle
12. Programming Workflow
13. Automation of the production line
14. Manual control
15. Technological baths:
  • degreasing
  • washing
  • microarc oxidation
  • drying
  • preparation of electrolyte
16. Provision of special equipment for the workpiece
17. Development of electrolytes
18. Embedding technology micro-arc oxidation in the existing production line
Comments

Registration

ок
forgot password?

Équipements et technologies pour l'oxydation microarc des métaux et alliages pour vannes

L'oxydation microarc est l’un des genres les plus porteurs de traitement des surfaces (les changements les plus répandus récemment dans les différentes branches de l'industrie pour la création des revêtements multifonctionnels en céramique).

Le projet traitant la problématique actuelle est la création de l'équipement en série de technologie de pointe pour la réalisation de la technologie d'oxydation microarc dans le champ ultra-sonique, qui permet de créer des matériaux composés de nouvelle génération sur la surface de métaux de valve et de leurs alliages (titane, aluminium, zirconium et autres) de différentes destinations fonctionnelles avec hautes propriétés physiques et mécaniques de l'exploitation.

Une nouvelle branche dans la prèsente sphère sont les élaborations de la Société suisse SA Progress Industrial Systems avec usage des oscillations ultra-soniques multifréquences dans l'électrolyte dans le cycle fonctionnel d'oxydation microarc des métaux.

Brève description du processus technologique proposé

Le mode de réalisation de la solution technique élaborée s’effectue comme suit: l’article est placé dans une cuve avec solution électrolytique de l'eau, aux deux - quatre des parois de la cuve sont fixés convertisseurs piézoélectriques avec différentes fréquences de résonance, les autres parois de la cuve servent au refroidissement (en maintenant la température optimale) de la solution d'électrolyte dans le procédé d'oxydation, ensuite aux électrodes, dont l'un est l’article même, il faut apporter le courant électrique ce qui entraîne la formation des microarcs qui permettent d’obtenir des revêtements composés. Le procédé d'oxydation microarc se produit lorsque les convertisseurs piézoélectriques sont branchés sur différentes fréquences (de de 15 à 100 kHz) ce qui permet de former un revêtement ayant une structure plus dense et fournir en continu de l'électrolyte frais à la zone d'oxydation microarc. La composition du composite comprend non seulement ses propres oxydes des métaux, mais également des combinaisons chimiques des composants de l'électrolyte, assurant l'obtention d’une structure unique de propriétés mécaniques et physiques de l'exploitation.

La technologie d'oxydation microarc développée en champ ultra-sonique est économique et à haute productivité (par rapport aux analogues existants, par exemple, à l'anodisation), assure l'obtention de hautes propriétés mécaniques et physiques des articles de différents degrés de complication.

Chaînes de production OMA

de l’équipement de force - sources spécialisées d’alimentation;
cuves pour préparation de la surface, traitement et lavage;
structures métalliques pour installer les cuves et le manipulateur;
manipulateur pour déplacer la suspension avec les détails (en cas de production en série);
l'équipement auxiliaire - distillateur, pompe à filtre pour nettoyage et pompage des solutions, volumes de réserve, appareils de contrôle de la qualité du revêtement et l'état de l'électrolyte.

Des sources d'alimentation électrique aux bornes des cuves sont apportées des impulsions de courant de sortie d'une certaine forme, cependant la pièce sert d'anode, la cuve sert de cathode ou électrodes supplémentaires, en règle générale, d'acier inoxydable.

Opérations technologiques.

Le nombre des opérations technologiques nécessaires pour OMA est considérablement inférieur à celui des procédés traditionnels de l’anodisation. Cela découle de l'absence de nombreuses opérations préparatoires et de la sécurité écologique des solutions utilisées. Après l'assemblage des pièces la suspension subit un dégraissage, après quoi les détails arrivent au traitement. Lors de production à grande échelle après la cuve d’application vient la phase de la cuve de récupération conçue pour une utilisation plus rationnelle des produits chimiques et de l'eau de lavage.Immersion – dégraissage - lavage - application du revêtement – récupération – lavage - déchargement

Le personnel - un technicien (enseignement supérieur technique) et les travailleurs (enseignement secondaire technique). Pour un terrain de 150-200 m², en général, il faut 2 travailleurs par service. Un contrôle périodique de la chaîne par un plombier et électricien est indispensable.


Propriétés des revêtements OMA

Composition:

Les revêtements OMA représentent une céramique de structure complexe. Le revêtement au cours de l’oxydation microarc est formé par l'oxydation de la surface métallique cependant sont crées l'oxyde et l'hydroxyde de ce métal. D'autre part le revêtement se développe grâce aux éléments électrolytiques apportés à sa composition. Les éléments de l'électrolyte sont apportés au revêtement sous forme de sels, oxydes et hydroxydes de structures complexe. En cas de besoin la technologie OMA permet d'inclure dans le revêtement tout élément chimique nécessaire. Plus le temps pour traiter la pièce à usiner est long, plus le nombre d'éléments de l'électrolyte qui s'accumule dans la couche de surface est plus important. La couche inférieure du revêtement qui se trouve au métal de base, se compose essentiellement de ses enchaînements d'oxyde.


Schéma du changement de la teneur de l'aluminium et du phosphore sur la surface du revêtement OMA du temps de traitement dans un électrolyte de phosphate.

Tableau:

L'épaisseur des revêtements est déterminée par plusieurs facteurs principaux. La nature de l'électrolyte, le matériau de l'alliage métallique, le régime de traitement et le temps du processus. L’OMA permet d’obtenir l'épaisseur des parties jusqu’aux centaines de micromètres. L'épaisseur requise du revêtement dépend de la destination et des conditions de l’utilisation. Pour l'application de la sous-couche pour la peinture il est suffisant d’avoir 5-10 μm, pour obtenir des propriétés d'isolation électrique et résistance à l'usure élevées il est nécessaire d’avoir 50-100 μm. 20-40 μm de revêtement assurent les propriétés décoratives et anticorrosives dans les conditions atmosphériques.

Porosité:

La porosité du revêtement varie dans la plage de 5-50%, dimensions de 0,01 à 10 μm. La structure de pore lors de l'épaisseur de revêtement de 5-10 microns est composée, ramifiée avec plusieurs branches et espaces fermés. Il est impossible d'obtenir des revêtements qui ne contiennent pas de pores ce qui est conditionné par la nature du processus. Si nécessaire la porosité peut être diminuée par imprégnation avec des matériaux différents ou par application d’une couche de polymère (colorant). Le fluorocarbonné est le matériau le plus souvent appliqué pour imprégner le revêtement et application colorants polymère en poudre. Dans certains cas, la porosité est un facteur positif. Lors du fonctionnement du revêtement en conditions de l'usure dans des conditions de lubrification, le lubrifiant pénètre dans les pores du revêtement et assure l'accès progressif dans la zone de frottement. En médecine le revêtement bioactif OMA peut contenir des médicaments dans leurs pores.

Résistance à l’usure:

Les revêtements sont utilisés comme résistant dans différents ensembles et agrégats de machines et mécanismes. Grâce à cela dans de nombreux cas il est possible d’utiliser des articles d'aluminium qui est un métal plutôt mou et compliqué pour les méthodes traditionnelles de traitement de surface (par exemple, traitement galvanique). Des tests comparatifs ont été réalisés avec des modèles de revêtements OMA sur l'aluminium et le modèle en acier avec une couche de chrome dur. La charge spécifique lors des essais était de 0,64 N/mm². Les revêtements OMA ont manifesté une usure inférieure, en particulier à des températures élevées.

Stabilité thermique:

Les revêtements OMA ont une résistance élevée aux charges thermiques et termocycliques. Les revêtements peuvent fonctionner sans restrictions sous les températures de -40 à + 60 C °. Pendant l’échauffement progressif d’une pièce la stabilité thermique du revêtement OMA est limitée par la température de fusion du métal de la pièce, puisque ces valeurs pour le métal sont par définition inférieures à celle de la céramique. Des tests ont montré que les revêtements peuvent supporter jusqu'à 280 cycles thermiques 310-15 poids et jusqu'à 25 500 cycles thermiques 15 poids. Dans de tels essais, le modèle avec le revêtement est chauffé à la température indiquée dans le four et ensuite jeté dans l'eau froide.

Rudesse:

Pendant le traitement la rudesse de la surface augmente avec le temps. Il est possible d’obtenir des revêtements avec une rudesse jusqu'à la 8-ième classes. La rudesse dépend de la matière de l'alliage, l'état de sa surface et le régime de traitement.

Résistance à la corrosion:

La méthode de l'OMA permet d’obtenir des revêtements résistants aux intempéries et à d'autres milieux de corrosion, solutions chimiquement agressives, vapeurs, eau de mer etc. Puisque les revêtements OMA est un revêtement ayant une céramique à structure composée, la résistance à la corrosion du matériau de revêtement est assez importante. La protection contre la corrosion de l'épaisseur du revêtement à base de métal est obtenue par l’épaisseur du revêtement et le réglage de la quantité et la structure des pores. Une protection supplémentaire est assurée par imprégnation des pores par matériau inerte (plastique fluocarbonné le plus souvent). Les tests (GOST B 20.57.304-76, GOST РВ 20.57.304-88) ont montré que les revêtements obtenus peuvent être exploités en tant que anti-corrosion pendant 15 ans.

Propriétés diélectriques:

La tension, sous laquelle se produit l’essai de la rupture du revêtement, ainsi que la résistance à la corrosion dépend du type et de la taille des pores. En outre, cette grandeur peut être considérablement augmentée par l'application d'une matière qui remplit les pores. La tension moyenne de la rupture du revêtement est de 600 V. La tension de rupture du revêtement avec des pores remplies - jusqu'à 2500 V.

Adhésion:

Les revêtements OMA ont un excellent couplage avec la base métallique qui est assuré par la présence d'une couche transitive à la frontière du revêtement métallique. La couche transitive est formée comme à l'intérieur du métal, tout comme à l'extérieur et a un profil avec de nombreuses courbes.

En conséquence, le couplage du revêtement avec la couche métallique manifeste une résistance plus importante que le revêtement même et lors de la charge ne se produit pas de rupture du revêtement dans la limite de séparation du revêtement métallique. Les valeurs d'adhérence calculées à partir des résultats de Scrach-test sont aux limites de 350 MPa.

La structure du revêtement MAO

Exemple de gamme de l'équipement de technologie OMA

EXEMPLE: Une usine a remplacé le matériau de l’injecteur de l'alliage solide vers l'aluminium et avec revêtement en OMA et a obtenu en résultat une importante résistance à l'usure de la surface et de l'économie grâce à la substitution d'un d'alliage solide vers l'aluminium qui est plus léger et moins coûteux. Le programme mensuel serait jusqu'à 5000 pièces au total, et ont été couvertes plus de 800000 pièces. L'intégration des technologies de l'oxydation microarc a été jusqu'ici freinée par méconnaissance de la méthode et absence des chaînes de production de l'OMA. A présent, cette situation change.Le nombre des organisations qui commencent à étudier le processus de l'OMA est en augmentation.

Les clients se voient offrir la possibilité de toutes variantes de livraison de l'équipement, de l’équipement sélectionné jusqu’à la livraison «clé en main".

Gamme de base de l’équipement pour OMA

La source spécialiée d’alimentation commandée par ordinateur des processus ayant les caractéristiques suivantes: tension d'alimentation 380Vх10А, tension de sortie (réglementée) de 100 à 1000 V, courant de sortie (réglementé) de 1 à 1000А, modes de travail: impulsions ou de tonalité, de commande et de stabilisation de courant et de tension, 100% répétition du mode de travail établi;

Cuve technologique avec refroidissement (maintenir la température établie), cuve équipée de convertisseurs ultra-soniques fonctionnant sur les fréquences de 15 à 100 kHz, puissance des convertisseurs ultra-soniques de 1 à 12 kW (en fonction de la construction et des dimensions de la cuve), le lot de la cuve comprend adaptations technologiques pour fixation des pièces.

Générateur ultra-sonique: puissance de 1 à 12 kW, bande de fréquences de 15 à 100 kHz (fréquence et puissance sélectionnées en fonction des dimensions de la cuve)

Questionnaire MAO


Questionnaire MAO



Paramètres couche MAO


1.

Dimension de la pièce, mm2



2.

Matériau de la pièce (Al, Ti, Zr, Mg, …)



3.

Dessin de la pièce en 3D (à joindre)



4.

Traitement MAO :

  • sur toute la surface

  • à l’intérieur de la pièce

- fragment



5.

Propriétés recherchées :

  • anti-friction

  • anti-corrosion

  • anti-usure

  • décorative

  • réflexion optique anti-reflector

  • électro-isolant

  • résistance thermique

  • bio-compatibilité

  • transparence radiographique

  • autre


6.

Epaisseur de couche MAO



7.

Porosité de couche externe



8.

Couleur de couche :

  • noir

  • beige

  • rouge

  • bleu

  • autre



Commentaires






Paramètres technologiques






9.


Volume de production par an




10.

Pulsion bi-polaire :



11.

Système de gestion de voltage, fréquence, pénétration



12.

Paramétrage du software pour la production



13.

Automation de ligne de production



14.

Manipulation manuelle



15.

Fourniture des bains technologiques :

  • dégraissage

  • nettoyage

  • MAO

  • séchage

  • préparation d’électrolyte


16.

Fourniture doutillage spécial pour pièce



17.

Formulation d’électrolyte



18

Intégration d’équipement MAO dans la ligne de production




Commentaires





inscription

ок
Vous avez oublié votre mot de passe?